SHARE “KARUNA” WITH OTHERS

Loved “Karuna” and the message behind it? Watch Matthieu Ricard’s reflections on the Tzu Chi USA & On the Buddha’s Path documentary film and request a special screening for your organization/group. 

Play Video

TUNE IN ON FRIDAY, NOV 27, 2020
4PM EST  |  3PM CST  |  1PM PST  |  9PM GMT  |  10PM GMT+1

Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds
TUNE IN NOW
Play Video

C.A.F.E.229 Compassion in Action, Freedom, Enlightenment

The C.A.F.E.229 webinar, hosted by the Tzu Chi Center For Compassionate Relief located at 229 East 60th Street in New York, casts a light on different aspects of contemplative living, and their benefits for self and others. Examined from a variety of perspectives, a contemplative lifestyle will emerge as one that encompasses altruistic tendencies, mindfulness and positive transformation, and wisdom. These themes are echoed in the words that constitute the C.A.F.E. name: Compassion in Action, Freedom, Enlightenment.

Speakers will come from the fields of psychology, health care, clinical research, religious practice and studies, philosophy, arts and culture, communications, global studies, and service-learning.

TUNE IN ON FRIDAY, OCT 23, 2020
LIVE AT 4 PM PST | 6 PM CST | 7 PM EST

This webinar is free and open to the public. RSVP now to receive updates on upcoming events:

WEBINAR 2020-2021

Compassion in Action, Freedom, Enlightenment

C.A.F.E. 229 Series 1

Transforming Distress into Compassion: Mindful Living in Action

Examined from a variety of perspectives, a contemplative lifestyle will emerge as one that encompasses altruistic tendencies, mindfulness and positive transformation, and wisdom. These themes are echoed in the words that constitute the C.A.F.E. name: Compassion in Action, Freedom, Enlightenment.

Watch our C.A.F.E.229 talk series on the third Friday of each month.

TUNE IN ON FRIDAY, DEC 18, 2020
7PM EST | 6PM CST | 4PM PST

Speakers will come from the fields of psychology, health care, clinical research, religious practice and studies, philosophy, arts and culture, communications, global studies, and service-learning.

Peter-Lin-400

Peter Lin, Ph.D.

Associate Chair and  Professor of Psychology, St. Joseph’s College New York
New York Licensed Psychologist

Roshi Pat Enkyo O’Hara

Abbot, Village Zendo, New York
Ph.D. (Media Ecology)
Zen Priest and Certified Zen Teacher in the Soto Tradition

Dr. Deborah Middleton

Director of the Mindfulness and Performance Research Project,  University of Huddersfield (UK)
Co-Editor, Journal of Performance and Mindfulness

Dr. Randye J. Semple

Associate Professor of Clinical Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Keck School of Medicine of USC (University of Southern California)

Matthieu Ricard

Buddhist monk, photographer, international best-selling author, humanitarian, and prominent speaker worldwide.

David Listen

Zen monk for 10 years in the Chan tradition. Specializes in leading intensive meditation retreats and guiding people in mindful living
Mental Health Counselor, L.P.

Nicholas Vreeland

Photographer, Abbot of Rato Dratsang, Director of The Tibet Center, subject of the feature-length documentary film, Monk with a Camera.

Coming in January.

Dr. Joanne Chang

Concert Pianist
Professor of Music, Queensborough Community College, City University of New York.

Coming in February.

These webinars are free and open to the public. RSVP now to receive updates on upcoming events:

About Tzu Chi Center For Compassionate Relief

The Tzu Chi Center for Compassionate Relief in New York is located at 229 E 60th Street in Manhattan’s Upper East Side.
The first floor features exhibits showcasing Tzu Chi’s environmental protection initiatives.
The first showroom in the United States of Tzu Chi’s proprietary DA.AI Technology, which is used to create eco-friendly products, is located on the first floor.
The second floor presents a multimedia exhibit of Tzu Chi’s global relief efforts and a “Bodhi Tree” where visitors can add well wishes.
The third floor offers multimedia exhibits above Tzu Chi’s founding and history and the Jing Si Abode in Taiwan.

Support Us

The Tzu Chi Center For Compassionate Relief operates under the umbrella of Tzu Chi USA, the American chapter of global Buddhist Tzu Chi Foundation. Join our family by supporting Tzu Chi USA’s humanitarian aid.

Play Video